The Customs Union

Home > > The Customs Union

The EAC member states (Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda) established a customs Union. The Customs Union is the first Regional Integration milestone which has been in force since 2005. The Customs Union states that EAC Partner States have agreed to establish free trade (or zero duty imposed) on goods and services amongst themselves and agreed on a common external tariff (CET), whereby imports from countries outside the EAC zone are subjected to the same tariff when sold to any EAC Partner State. The union was fully operational in